in ,

Senators Who Won’t be Returning to the 9th Assembly (and why)

The general elections have come and gone, and on Thursday, President Muhammadu Buhari pronounced the dissolution of the eight session of the National Assembly and as well ushered in the ninth session of the parliament.

With the new session expected to begin on Tuesday June 11 2019, we have made a list of all the senators who will not be returning to the 9th National Assembly.

Bob Effiong of the APC, lost his bid to return to the as senator for Akwa Ibom North East for a second term to Akpan Bassey Albert of the PDP

Dr. Bukola Saraki was defeated in all the four local government areas in the Kwara Central senatorial district by Oloriegbe Yahaya Ibrahim (APC)

Nazif Gamawa failed in his attempt to return as the senator for Bauchi North, and lost to APC’s Bulkachuwa Adamu Muhammad

Rafiu Ibrahim of Kwara South was arrested 24 hours to the presidential and National Assembly elections. He was brought in for questioning after the attack on Ashiru Oyelola Yisa of the APC. Rafiu Ibrahim eventually lost to the APC candidate

Olusegun Mimiko who was the candidate of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) for Ondo Central Senatorial District, lost to Akinyelure Patrick Ayo , candidate of the PDP

Yele Omogunwa who was described as the ‘Worst Ever’ Ondo South Senator was attacked and nearly lynched by angry youths lost his seat to Nicholas Tofowomo of the PDP

Suleiman Hunkuyi lost his Kaduna North senatorial seat to Kwari Suleiman Abdu of the APC

Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom North West, lost his seat to Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong of the PDP

Monsurat Sunmonu was defeated in the Oyo Central senatorial district election by Folarin Teslim Kolawole , candidate of the APC

Rilwan Adesoji who dumped APC in 2018 lost his Oyo South senatorial seat to Kola Ademola Balogun (PDP)

Abiodun Olujimi, a minority leader and Ekiti South senator was defeated by Adeyeye Clement Adebayo of the APC

Duro Faseyi of the PDP Ekiti North, lost his re-election bid for to Adetunmbi Olubunmi Ayodeji of the APC

Mao Ohuabunwa of PDP lost the Abia North Senatorial district to former governor, senator, and APC candidate Kalu Orji Uzor 

Andy Uba was defeated by oil magnate, Ifeanyi Ubah (YPP) in Anambra South

Victor Umeh of APGA lost to Uche Lilian Ekwunife (PDP) in Anambra Central

Senators Shittu Ubali will not be returning as senator for Jigawa North East, as he was defeated by Hassan Ibrahim Hadeija (APC)

Shehu Sani, having fallen out with the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, left the APC and joined the PRP, but eventually lost his seat to Sani Uba, an APC candidate in Kaduna Central

Mohammed Hassan of the PDP lost his seat to Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed of the APC in Yobe South

Binta Masi Garba of the APC, and only female Senator from Northern Nigeria, representing Adamawa North will not be returning as she lost to Ishaku Elisha Cliff of the PDP

Hamman Isa Misau of the PDP lost to APC candidate, Jika Dauda Halliru in Bauchi Central

Ahmed Ogembe of the PDP lost his position to as senator for Kogi Cantral to Yakubu Oseni of the APC

Barnabas Gemade of Benue North East, failed to get his re-election having lost to Gabriel Suswam of PDP

George Akume of the APC lost his re-election bid for Benue North West to Emmanuel Yisa Orker-Jev (PDP).

David Mark who retired from politics to become a peace ambassador will not be returning to the senate. He was succeeded by Patrick Abba Moro (PDP) in Benue South

Biodun Olujimi, another Senate minority leader, also lost her bid to return to the Senate for the Ekiti South senatorial district, as she was defeated by former fellow party man, Dayo Adeyeye, of the APC

Written by Emeka Nweze

Content writer and contributor.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 Billionaires Without a Degree

15 Tourist Destinations in Nigeria