See the Seven Women on President Buhari’s Ministerial List

President Buhari finally sent his ministerial nomination list to the senate, and the list was met with several reservations, and one of them was the small number of women on the list. Out of the 43 names, only 7 of them are female and this has drawn reactions and criticisms from both regular Nigerians and the opposition.

However as screening begins today, here are the profiles of the seven women on the list.

Sharon Ikeazor (Anambra)

Seasoned Lawyer,politician, philanthropist and an astute administrator, Sharon Ikeazor was born into the family of Chief Chimezie Ikeazor, SAN, of Obosi, Anambra State. In 2013, she emerged the interim national woman leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC). During her tenure as the APC national women leader, she established the APC Young Women’s Forum (APC-YWF) a scheme she used to mentor and sponsor young female politicians and she continues to organise and participate in leadership, training and mentoring of young women in politics. She is also the founder of the Legal Aid for the Poor Scheme in Nigeria

In 2016 , she was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari as Executive Secretary of the Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD).

Maryam Katagun (Bauchi)

Maryam Katagun occupied the office of the secretary-general of the Nigerian National Commission for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)between 2001 and 2009. Since June 2009, she has served as Permanent Delegate to UNESCO.

She is also the deputy chair of the board of governors of the Commonwealth of Learning (COL) and member representing Nigeria on the UNESCO executive board.

Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna)

Zainab Ahmed is one of the returning ministers on President Buhari’s list. Born in on June 16 1960, in kaduna, Zainab Ahmed got her first degree in Accounting from Ahmadu Bello University in 1981 after-which she proceeded to Olabisi Onabanjo University for her MBA

In 2015, she was appointed as the Minister of State for Budget and National Planning by Buhari. Upon the resignation of the erstwhile Minister of Finance Kemi Adeosun on September 14, 2018, Ahmed was appointed as Finance Minister in September 2018.

Ramatu Tijjani-Aliyu (Kogi)

Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu graduated from Ahmadu Bello University with a degree in Urban & Regional Planning. She also has an M.PA in Public Administration from Nasarawa State University, Keffi and a D.PA in Public Administration, Honoris Causa, from the Commonwealth University, London.

The Princess of Lokoja served as the immediate past APC National woman Leader. She is the President of African Political Parties.

Gbemisola Saraki (Kwara)

Gbemisola Saraki attended the University of Sussex in the United Kingdom and earned a bachelor’s degree in Economics. Saraki was elected to represent the Kwara central Senatorial district under the platform of the People’s Democratic Party in 2003. She was elected into the House of Representatives in 1999 representing Asa/Ilorin West Federal Constituency, Kwara State.

Gbemisola Saraki is the female legislator with the highest number of sponsored bills in Nigeria. At the Senate, she chaired several high profile committees, including, the Senate Committee on National Planning, Poverty Alleviation and Economic Affairs and the Senate Committee on Corruption.

Pauline Tallen (Plateau)

Pauline Tallen , a native of Shendam was born on January 8 1959 to the family of Kattiems. She got a degree in sociology at the University of Jos in 1982.

In 1999, she was appointed Minister of State for Science and Technology by former President Olusegun Obasanjo. In 2007, she became the first woman to be a deputy governor in northern after she emerged deputy governor of Plateau State. She eventually contested to be governor of the state in 2011 but lost to Jonah Jang.

She is a member board of trustees of All Progressive Congress, and was honoured as woman of the year for her contribution to Nigeria at the 10th African Icon of Our Generation Award. She is a board member of National Agency for Control of Aids(NACA)

Sadiya Farouk (Zamfara)

Sadiya Umar Farouk attained her Bsc. in Business Administration (Actuarial Science) in 1998 at the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, after which she earned a Master’s degree in International Affairs and Diplomacy in 2008 and also MBA in 2011 from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna State.

She served as Interim National Treasurer of the APC from 2013-2014 before her appointment as Member, All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential Campaign Council where she served in the directorates of election planning and monitoring, field operations, and fund raising.

Sadiya was appointed in September 26, 2016, as the Honourable Federal Commissioner (HFC) of the National Commission for Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons (NCFRMI).

Written by Emeka Nweze

Content writer and contributor.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *